The Vedas are age-old documents and scriptures that are a culmination of all Hindu practices, understandings, and traditions. Of these scriptures, the Rig Veda of the early Vedic period is one of the most prominent scriptures that objectively speak about these traditions.

Old Vedic principles did not work based on the caste system, political systems, or any other materialistic idea but instead focused on spirituality and nature worship. Jyothisam or ‘Jyotisha’, which means the study of light, is a part of the Vedangas and is one of the auxiliary principles of the Vedas.

The study entails observing the physical and spiritual realm along with the celestial sphere and how each correlates with each other. Jyotish is a practice that has its foundations stemming from the concept of ‘Bandhu’, which essentially speaks about how every living being, every microcosm, and macrocosm are linked and how each destiny or path is intertwined.

Online horoscopes today are an accurate method of having your chart read without any hassle to experience what astrology is all about.

Important Principles and Concepts

Jyotisha or any form of astrology through the history of the world was considered to be more than a predictive study. It was seen as a healing and metaphysical system as well. Understanding the driving principles will help you make sense when you have a reading for your horoscope online.

The Vedic system was highly rich, accurate, and inclusive. The people never considered Jyotisham to be ‘Vedic’ or of the Hindu caste. They actually functioned on the teachings of the ‘Sanatana Dharma’ or the Eternal Truth.

Some of these principles may seem familiar because in modern-day they are used in explaining concepts of yoga or Ayurveda. Let’s look into the key principles-

Read More: Best New Years Resolutions for Each Zodiac Sign


There are 3 gunas mentioned in the Vedas, which are the qualities of nature. Guna means ‘that which binds’, and each is like a single strand. When placed together the three form Maya. These Gunas are what keep you in the illusion that you are only your physical body. It is said that all energy comprises the Gunas whose qualities involve physical, mental, and spiritual realms.

The three Gunas are Tamas, Rajas, and Sattwa.

The 5 elements-

There are 5 major elements observed in existence- fire, water, air, earth, and space. Jyothisya accepts these as the building blocks of all matter and states that an understanding of these elements gives us keen insight into our own lives.

These elements are also correlated to the planets and zodiacs of astrology, with fire including Aries, Leo, Sagittarius, The sun, Mars and Ketu, Water is the natural element of Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces, and the moon. Earth is the element of Taurus, Virgo, and Capricorn; while air is the element of Gemini, Libra, Aquarius, and Rahu.


The Planetary Cabin-

Vedic astrology associates all 7 major planets into positions or cabinets, where the Sun and Moon are always royalty. Below is benefic associations that have been given to each planet:

•  Sun- King

•  Moon- Queen

•  Mars- Army or military chief

•  Mercury- Prince

•  Jupiter and Venus- Ministers

•  Saturn- Servant

These planets are also associated with particular colors. Understanding this leads to a deeper acceptance and knowledge of the roles these planets play in your life.

When you go for Online Horoscope, remember that there are a lot of practiced astrologers out there who will give you great insight, but without knowing these principles anyone can make a fool of you. Knowing your basics accelerates the process of understanding your birth chart and acting accordingly.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments